Cocaine is classified as one of the most dangerous controlled substances under Texas law. This is due to its high potential for abuse and addictive nature. As a result, the penalties you face are high.
Under Texas law, the penalty you face for cocaine possession is directly dependent on the amount of the drug you are caught with. Here’s the maximum allowable penalty.
|Amount of Cocaine||Offense Classification||Penalty|
|Less than 1 gram||State jail felony||Up to 2 years in prison and $10,000|
|1 gram- 3.99 grams||3rd degree felony||2-10 yrs. in prison and $10,000|
|4- 199 grams||2nd degree felony||2- 20 yrs. in prison and $10,000|
|200- 399 grams||1st degree felony||5- 99 yrs. in prison and $10,000|
|400 grams +||Enhanced 1st degree felony||10- 99 yrs. in prison and $100,000|
Not all cocaine possession cases end in a conviction, however. Most end in a plea agreement or resolution within the Texas drug courts.