Meth is classified with the most addictive and dangerous drugs under Texas law. This means that you will face the harshest possible penalties if convicted of possession of methamphetamine.
Texas Methamphetamine Possession Penalties
The penalties for possession of meth are high. This table reflects the maximum allowable penalties under Texas law.
|Amount of Meth||Offense Classification||Penalty|
|Less than 1 gram||State jail felony||Up to 2 years in prison and $10,000|
|1 gram- 3.99 grams||3rd degree felony||2-10 yrs. in prison and $10,000|
|4- 199 grams||2nd degree felony||2- 20 yrs. in prison and $10,000|
|200- 399 grams||1st degree felony||5- 99 yrs. in prison and $10,000|
|400 grams +||Enhanced 1st degree felony||10- 99 yrs. in prison and $100,000|
Most Texas meth possession cases do not result in a conviction.
Instead, most cases are resolved with a plea agreement. This means the prosecution offers you a more lenient sentence or reduced charges in exchange for your guilty plea. In many cases this results in a drastically reduced prison sentence or even no prison time at all.